AeroPress

Yo yo yo,

Yes, I know I haven’t posted anything even remotely personal in a while. I don’t know why. I don’t care. Let’s get to it.

I’m on the AeroPress now. It’s been a couple weeks, so I thought I’d share my experience.

I’m a pragmatic person. Despite being an audiophile, I think sound quality is a shockingly small part of the whole equation in setting up a nice listening system. I listen to a great deal of my music on either my Grado SR60s or Apple EarPods, even though I own a pair of Sennheiser HD650s. For coffee, there can be just as much hoopla in brewing the perfect cup, but I’m a morning coffee drinker. It’s part of the morning ritual that gets me up and in a good mood, so there isn’t a ton of room for fuss. I believe it’s important to have standards and to invest in the right tools for the job, so I’m very grateful to Carrie for my Baratza Virtuoso Preciso Grinder grinder.


The blue sticky tack is to keep the MICROadjust from drifting right while it grinds.

For beans, I like the roasts at Phil & Sebastian. I used to make espresso, but now I need a roast that’s more naturally sweet to offset the absence of the steamed milk.


Cool beans

Now, to the pragmatism. I went with a simple recipe.

Inverted Method
17.0 g (24 A grind setting on the Preciso so far)
250 g of boiled water
Pour water midway (~150 g), stir three times, fill to 250 g
Steep for 2 minutes
Wet filter in filter cap

This portion I took from Wille Yli-Luoma from the 2013 World AeroPress Championships. Now for the shocking/lazy/efficient/clever portion of my brew.

Fill up one of those little Starbucks cups with milk
Microwave for two minutes, keeping time with the steeping of the coffee


Starbucks? More like StarMugs.

Yeah, this way works better, okay? I don’t even know how much volume of milk to pour, but I don’t care. I just know it fits perfectly with the reusable Starbucks cups Carrie bought. The whole concoction keeps me nice and warm in the brisk river-adjacent morning air, though lately it seems like Calgary just “NOPE”-ed its way out of winter somehow.

Furthermore to how great my little system is, notice how well the filter cap fits into an inverted lid on the Starbucks cup.

The whole process is pretty quick. I make coffee just the way I like it, and it starts my day off right. Not bad for $45 of plastic and rubber. And a $20 scale. And a $350 grinder. (We bought it for life, but you could get by with its little brother.)

About

Christian. Audio. Technology. Go-Getter. Concise.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Changed My Life, Coffee

Leave a Reply

